Triangle of Sadness Wins 2022 Palme d’Or; Other Winners from 75th Cannes Film Festival

The 75th Cannes Film Festival has concluded with Saturday’s award ceremony, where the nine-person jury named Ruben Östlund’s biting social satire Triangle of Sadness as the recipient of the prestigious Palme D’Or. The English-language debut from the Swedish director stars Woody Harrelson as the raging Marxist captain of a cruise ship for the mega-rich.

Receiving an eight-minute standing ovation following its debut at the festival, Triangle of Sadness’ win marks Östlund’s second Palme d’Or—he previously won with 2017’s The Square.

The second-highest award, the Grand Prix, was a tie between Lukas Dhont’s Close and Claire Denis’ Stars at Noon. Among other awardees were Parasite’s Song Kang-ho, who took home Best Actor for his role in Hirokazu Kore-eda’s Broker; Zar Amir-Ebrahimi was awarded Best Actress for her work in crime thriller Holy Spider. See the full list of main competition winners below, courtesy of Entertainment Weekly:


Palme d’Or: Ruben Östlund, Triangle of Sadness

Grand Prix: TIE—Lukas Dhont, Close & Claire Denis, Stars at Noon

Best Director: Park Chan-wook, Decision to Leave

Best Actress: Zar Amir-Ebrahimi, Holy Spider

Best Actor: Song Kang-ho, Broker

Best Screenplay: Tarik Saleh, Boy From Heaven

Jury Prize: TIE—Félix Van Groeningen and Charlotte Vandermeersch, The Eight Mountains & Jerzy Skolimowski, EO

75th Anniversary Prize: Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne, Tori and Lokita

A full list of winners can be found on Cannes’ official website.

Östlund Joins Exclusive List With Triangle of Sadness Win

Coproduction Office

In the 67-year history of the Palme d’Or, only nine directors or co-directors have won the award twice. Triangle of Sadness’ victory places Ruben Östlund alongside names like Francis Ford Coppola (The Conversation, Apocalypse Now) and Emir Kusturica (When Father Was Away on Business, Underground). Belgian filmmaking duo Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne, who were awarded this year’s 75th Anniversary prize for Tori and Lokita, are also among those on the list.

Östlund is also one of only three directors who have won the Palme d’Or with consecutive films; he shares the designation with Michael Haneke (The White Ribbon, Amour) and Billie August (Pelle the Conqueror, The Best Intentions).

Östlund’s first Palme d’Or win was with 2017’s The Square, a satirical film starring Claes Bang and Elisabeth Moss. The comedy-drama was also nominated for the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film in 2018, though it was ultimately beaten out by Chilean A Fantastic Woman.

Although the North American release date for Triangle of Sadness is still TBA, you can catch up on Östlund’s filmography with The Square streaming on Hulu.