Jason Blum, Marlee Matlin Join Film Academy Board of Governors

The 54-person board of governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is welcoming some fresh faces, The Hollywood Reporter reports. The board, which consists of three elected governors from each of the organization’s 17 branches along with three “governors-at-large” appointed by the president, elected 12 new governors following elections held over the past month.

Among the first-time position holders are Blumhouse chief and Get Out producer Jason Blum, representing the producers branch, and Oscar-winner Marlee Matlin (Children of a Lesser God, CODA) who will advocate for the actors branch. Juno and Up in the Air filmmaker Jason Reitman will represent the directors branch; IMAX president Megan Colligan will serve the marketing/public relations branch. Other new additions include Netflix director of research, creative algorithms and technology Paul Debevec (visual effects branch), Disney Animation’s Marlon West (short films/feature animation), Oscar-nominated sound mixer Peter Devlin (sound), Nancy Richardson (film editors), Dion Beebe (cinematographers), Richard Hicks (casting directors), and Missy Parker (production design).


Four incumbents were re-elected alongside the rookie governors, including Black Panther costumer Ruth E. Carter (costume designers), Forrest Gump screenwriter Eric Roth (writers), 91st Oscars telecast producer Donna Gigliotti (executives), and The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe makeup artist Howard Berger (makeup artists/hairstylists).

Music branch governor Charles Fox also returned to the board after he was previously required to step away, having served the maximum number of consecutive terms.

No sitting governor who sought re-election lost.

Blum, Matlin and Incumbents Join 37 Sitting Governors

Vendôme Pictures

In addition to the new elects and returning incumbents, 37 governors were not up for election this cycle and will remain in their positions on the board. The returning governors include Whoopi Goldberg and Rita Wilson for the actors branch, Pam Abdy and David Linde serving the executives branch, and Paul Cameron and Mandy Walker representing cinematographers.

Other sitting governors include Kate Amend (documentary), Bonnie Arnold (short films/feature animation), Lesley Barber (music), Charles Bernstein (music), Susanne Bier (directors), Jon Bloom (short films/feature animation), Gary C. Bourgeois (sound), Rob Bredow (visual effects), Brooke Breton (visual effects), Eduardo Castro (costume designers), Bill Corso (makeup artists/hairstylists), Teri E. Dorman (sound), Tom Duffield (production design), Ava DuVernay (directors), Linda Flowers (makeup artists/hairstylists), Lynette Howell Taylor (producers), Larry Karaszewski (writers), Laura C. Kim (marketing/public relations), Christina Kounelias (marketing/public relations), Isis Mussenden (costume designers), Stephen Rivkin (film editors), Howard A. Rodman (writers), Terilyn A. Shropshire (film editors), Kim-Taylor Coleman (casting directors), Wynn P. Thomas (production design), Jennifer Todd (producers), Jean Tsien (documentary), and Debra Zane (casting directors).

Rodrigo García, Janet Yang, and DeVon Franklin round out the board as the governors-at-large.

Per The Hollywood Reporter, 13 governors either termed out or opted not to seek re-election. Among those not returning are board president David Rubin (casting directors), Laura Dern (actors), Steven Spielberg (directors), Roger Ross Williams (documentary), Nancy Utley (marketing/public relations), Laura Karpman (music), Mark Johnson (producers), Jan Pascale (production design), Jennifer Yuh Nelson (short films/feature animation), Kevin Collier (sound), Craig Barron (visual effects), Ellen Kuras (cinematographers), and Dody Dorn (film editors).

According to the Academy, the reconstituted board will be 54 percent female and 28 percent non-white.